Bitfinex, Ethereum and problem of of trust

I am new to all of this. Only in June I first found out about blockchains and bitcoin.
What attracted me the most were the words: Blockchain solves the issue of trust.
“Today we often use third parties to solve the problem of trust”. You know that feeling when you walk into a bank and wait for the teller or call creditcard callcenter. They might help but they are so boring. They might offer you protection but the price is they want to control you. Cryptocurrencies will set you free and make you anonymous.
I dived in. I set up wallets and purchased my coins and market was up and all is good.
Until a few days ago, when I transferred some Ethereum to Bitfinex. Ethereum never reached the wallet.
Apart from being angry, I put a ticket to Bitfinex and I research forums about the problem etc.
Then I realised: Ethereum blockchain have not solved the issue of my trust in Bitfinex. That what I am doing is looking for the third party to help, to resolve the problem. The system did not work. Ether transactions are nonreversable and my money is nowhere in etherland. I so want to call my bank or Paypal, or write a post on the forum… anyone???

1 Like

Feline, I am going to put on my big girl pants and step up to the plate to offer my support as a fellow crypto member in the spirit of what Ivan is trying to achieve: a community where you are not alone in the crypto space.

I am sorry to hear that you have lost money.

It must be very frustrating to find out that this space is rife with Accidents, Mistakes, Theft, and Ineptitude, especially when it involves a thing that many of us work so hard for and have so little of.

I cannot fix your situation but the best advice I can give you is to remember that the internet right now is the wild, wild west and in the crypto space there are no sherifs but everyone owns a gun.